2002 Arkansas Governor’s Awards for Entrepreneurial Development Winners

First Place – $30,000

Yard Homes – University of Arkansas at Fayetteville
Team Members: Michael Newcity, Jamie Loftin, Jeffrey Loftin
Faculty Advisor: Lance Sexton
Yard Homes produces custom prefabricated residential storage and outbuildings that complement modern home design.

Second Place – $20,000

Eagle Eye Inc. – University of Arkansas at Little Rock
Team Member: Christy Simons
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Calvin Bacon
Eagle Eye Inc. incorporates an indoor shooting range, personal safety training center, and a firearm/safety product retail business.

Third Place – $10,000

Sempurna Coffee Company – University of Arkansas at Fayetteville
Team Members: Stuart Walker, Richard Dillon
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Carol Reeves
Sempurna Coffee Company distributes green coffee bean roasters and other premium coffee products to major retailers.

SBC Southwestern Bell Technology Award Winners $5,000 each

Waterwood Inc. – Harding University
Team Members: Dane Joneshill, Taylor Ross
Faculty Advisor: Stacey Lewis
Waterwood Inc. uses shipbuilding technology to manufacture wooden bathroom fixtures. The team’s proposed technique has the potential to increase manufacturing efficiency by as much as two-thirds over existing competition methods.

Arkansas Medical Solutions – Harding University
Team Member: Sean Evans
Faculty Advisor: Michael Emerson
Arkansas Medical Solutions is an integrated medical office transcription, billing, and medical records software.

Yard Homes – University of Arkansas at Fayetteville

Quick Links: